During the 62nd National Convention in Sacramento, Calif. the Beta Beta chapter at the University of Louisville received the Paul Newman Award. The Paul Newman Award is presented annually to the chapter that raises the most money for the SeriousFun Children’s Network.

The award is named for Paul Newman, a 1943 initiate of Beta chapter at Ohio University, who was an actor, director, professional racing driver, philanthropist and the founder of Hole in the Wall Gang Camps, now SeriousFun Children’s Network.

Louisville raised over $20,000 for SeriousFun thanks largely to the continued success of its on campus step show which is now in its 15th year.

Congratulations to Beta Beta chapter at the University of Louisville.

Phi Kappa Tau chapters from all over the country submitted outstanding materials for chapter, group and alumni awards.  The Phi Kappa Tau awards committee was charged with the responsibility of reviewing and deciding which applicant best aligned with the awards’ criteria. The committee was led by Cro Skender, Case Western ’00. Brothers also serving were Kenneth Jordan, Wright State ’74, John Sayers, Bethany ’78, Matt Parker, Evansville ’93, Jordan Loeb, Indiana ’06, Mark Scher, Rider ’85 and Chase Riddle, Louisville ’11.