The Phi Kappa Tau Awards Committee announced the recipients of the 2014 awards during the 2015 Conclave in Oxford, Ohio. Chairman Cro Skender, Case Western ’00, oversaw the presentation ceremonies.

William H. Shideler Award

Chase Riddle, Louisville ’10

Thomas L. Stennis II Award

Derrick Wildes, Southern Illinois ’08

Greg Hollen Colony President Award

Keaton Smith, Alabama ’14 and
Andrew Freeman, North Texas ’15

Dwight I. Douglass President’s Award

Grant McKenzie, Louisville ’12

Richard Massock Award

Old Dominion

Sonny Strange Recruitment Award

Florida and Georgia

Paul Newman Award


Monroe Moosnick Scholarship Trophy


Frederick R. Fletemeyer Prize

Middle Tennessee State

Jack Jareo Award

Nebraska Wesleyan

Jason Crawford Award


Dr. Edgar Ewing Brandon Award

Gary Proud, RIT ’66

Outstanding Colony Advisor Award

Dennis Daniels, Mississippi State ’90 and Michael Tulley

Outstanding Greek Advisor Award

Melinda Dilley

Roland Maxwell Trophy

Nebraska Wesleyan

Roland Maxwell Founders Four


Nebraska Wesleyan, Belmont, Louisville, Central Michigan

Roland Maxwell Scrolls

Nebraska Wesleyan, Louisville, Central Michigan, Belmont,
Ohio State, Mount Union, Washington, RIT

Community Service Scroll

Centre, Mount Union, Kentucky, Nebraska Wesleyan, Bethany, Washington, Akron, Louisville, East Carolina, Central Michigan, RIT, Georgetown, Muskingum, Murray State, West Virginia Tech, College of New Jersey, William Paterson, San Francisco State, Rutgers, Belmont, Illinois-Springfield.


Penn State ($63,269), Florida ($29,961), Louisville ($17,694), Georgia ($17,261), Centre ($10,746), Kentucky ($10,339), Washington ($7,480), Belmont ($7,237), Baldwin Wallace ($6,508), St. Cloud ($6,042), Rutgers ($5,930), Nebraska Wesleyan ($5,894), Mount Union ($5,877),
Rochester ($5,238), Ohio State ($4,911), Cornell ($4,005), Cal Poly-Pomona ($3,700), Chapman ($2,900), Akron ($2,757), Lynchburg ($2,753), Bradley ($2,693), Wright State ($2,552), Ohio ($2,550), Cal State-Chico ($2,550), Purdue ($2,150).

Academic Excellence

Mount Union, Transylvania, UC Berkeley, Penn State, Nebraska Wesleyan, Cornell, Colgate, Akron, Baldwin Wallace, Louisville, Florida State, Maryland, Southern Illinois, Bradley, Truman State, West Virginia Tech, Longwood, Chapman, Arizona, Virginia Tech, Belmont, Lynchburg.

Pacesetter Award

Mount Union, Transylvania, Kentucky, Purdue, Penn State, Florida, Auburn, Cornell, Colgate, Baldwin Wallace, Oklahoma State, Georgia, Maryland, Central Michigan, Bradley, Old Dominion, Texas State, Cal Poly-Pomona, William Paterson, Clemson, Virginia Tech, Belmont.

Order of the Star

Centre, Kentucky, Purdue, Bethany, Case Western, Florida, Akron, Baldwin Wallace, Georgia, Cal State-Chico, Cincinnati, Wright State, Virginia Wesleyan, Rutgers, Saginaw Valley State, Lynchburg.