The Phi Kappa Tau Constitution mandates that, every two years, the Fraternity assemble in National Convention to elect brothers to the National Council. The National Council serves as Phi Kappa Tau’s legislative body when Convention is not in session.

Click here to apply.

The Nominating Committee will be led by two outstanding Phi Kappa Tau brothers. National Leadership Advisor Leroy Chiao, UC Berkeley ’79, has been appointed honorary chairman and Past National President Steve Nelson, Southern Mississippi ’73, has been appointed chairman.

Chiao is a former NASA astronaut and International Space Station commander. He currently serves as Phi Kappa Tau’s National Leadership Advisor and is a member of the Hall of Fame.

Nelson is a past national president and served on the National Council from 2004 to 2014. He is the 1977 William H. Shideler Award winner—the Fraternity’s highest undergraduate honor.

The Nominating Committee anticipates that Phi Kappa Tau will elect a national vice president and two national councilors at the 62nd National Convention, in Sacramento, Calif. from July 6-10, 2016

The national vice president will hold office for two years and, at the 63rd National Convention (2018), will succeed to the office of national president for a two-year term, following a vote of confidence by the National Council. The national councilors will hold office for six years.

Any alumni member in good standing may be nominated for election. The nominating committee will receive and review nominations during the next several months.

Alumni interested in serving on the National Council should send a resume to Members wishing to submit names for consideration or receive information about the duties and expectations of national councilors should use the same address.

Information about the candidacy process will be made available on Phi Kappa Tau’s website at Undergraduate Advisory Board positions will be addressed in upcoming communication.

Apply today.